Wastewater Training
Wastewater Operator Certification
Drinking Water
Nonpoint Source/Erosion Control
Septic Systems
Management School
North Country Convention
Partner Links




PO Box 487
Scarborough, ME
Phone: 207/253-8020
Fax: 207/771-9028
Email: jetcc@jetcc.org

Awards and Recognition

Lee Agger Award

Founders Award

Maine DEP Outstanding Achievement

Lee Agger Award

The Lee Agger Award was established in 1990 in memory of Lee Agger, whose hard work in establishing JETCC was an inspiration to all who worked with her. Ms. Agger died in 1989 after a prolonged illness. It is said that it was Lee Agger who put JETCC on the map, as she was a very dedicated sincere woman able to motivate many people to volunteer on behalf of environmental training. This Award was created by the JETCC Board to recognize fellow environmental professionals who have shown a similar dedication to JETCC. It is presented annually at the Maine Wastewater Control Association's Convention. Selection criteria is based on meritorious support and service to environmental training in the State of Maine by an individual(s) or facility / organization. Nominations are made by the JETCC staff and board members or can be solicited from the outside.

This year’s recipient of the Lee Agger Award

JETCC’s Lee Agger Award Previous Winners

Founders Award

Why not nominate your best employee?

Consider nominating him or her for the JETCC Founders Award in honor of Jerome “Frenchie” Guevremont. The JETCC Founders Award is given annually to an operator, maintenance worker or laboratory personnel working in a municipal or industrial wastewater treatment system in Maine.

The JETCC Founders Award is intended to recognize a staff member working in a plant or wastewater system.

Basic criteria includes:

Nominations can be made by any superintendent, trustee or member of a governing board/management staff providing oversight to a wastewater system in Maine.

For more detail or to request a nomination form please contact:
JETCC Board of Directors
PO Box 487, Scarborough, ME 04070-0487
Phone: 207/253-8020 Fax: 207/771-9028
Email: Jetcc@maine.rr.com

Deadline for nominations is June 18, 2012. An Awards Nomination committee will be established by the JETCC Board of Directors to review and rank all submittals. The recipient will be presented the JETCC Founders Award at the MWWCA Fall Convention by a JETCC representative.

JETCC Founders Award Recipient

2011 JETCC Past Service Awards

Dana Peck and John Hart

D Peck Award 2011rsOn September 15, 2011, Dana Peck received a Past Service Award for his role as Industrial Representative with the JETCC Board of Directors.  Dana served on the JETCC Board from May 2008 through May 2011. While teaching at York County Community College, Dana lead an effort to re-institute a wastewater training program. Dana brought his enthusiasm to the JETCC Board of Directors in 2008. As a result of some of the inroads Dana initiated, by 2009 the JETCC Board teamed with MWWCA and Maine DEP to launch the 12-month Management Candidate School. Dana continues to support the management school and conducts a "Management and Leadership" class as part of the curriculum.




PastService2011 JHart CROn April 29, 2011, John Hart was presented with the JETCC Board of Directors Past Service Award during the Maine Wastewater Control Association's Spring Conference in Portland.  In total, since 1994, John has served approximately 13 years on the JETCC Board of Directors, including a 3 year stint as Chairman from 1999-2001.  Throughout John's time with the JETCC Board, he also has been active in various capacities with Water Environment Federation.  John Hart also played a significant role in getting the 12-month Management Candidate School started in 2009. 




Congratulations, Leeann Hanson
2010 Regional Wastewater Trainer Award Recipient!

LH awards Modified


Congratulations to Leeann Hanson, JETCC Training Coordinator, who was selected as the 2010 Regional Wastewater Trainer Award recipient on behalf of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency New England Office.  Leeann Hanson was nominated by a number of her peers in the wastewater profession to acknowledge all of her outstanding work with respect to helping to develop and constantly coordinating a wide range of training courses for wastewater treatment plant operators throughout the State of Maine.  Leeann was presented with her award at the annual New England Water Environment Association (NEWEA) conference on January 26, 2011.  (Read more...)




Maine DEP Outstanding Achievement

Environmentalists Honored at Annual North Country Convention

Maine DEP On November 2, 2007 three of Northern Maine’s Wastewater Operators were recognized by the Maine Department of Environmental Protection for outstanding achievements and excellence in their profession. n. n. n.

The Certificates of Achievement were presented by Maine DEP Bureau of Land and Water Quality Director, Andrew Fisk at JETCC’s North Country Convention in Presque Isle. The Awards were announced before an audience of 134 water and wastewater operators, Maine State Senator John Martin, and three Maine Wastewater Control Association Executive Committee members.

The North Country Convention takes place every other year in Presque Isle, Maine. It is organized and presented by the Maine Joint Environmental Training coordinating committee (JETCC), in cooperation with Maine Wastewater Control Association (MWWCA), and New England Interstate Water Pollution Control Commission (NEIWPCC). The North Country Convention is offered as a northern Maine compliment to similar events offered by MWWCA in other regions of the state while it provides a setting for personnel working in water pollution control to meet, network and enjoy variety of training opportunities.